4 stages in a person's life according to Carl Jung

4 stages in a person's life according to Carl Jung
4 stages in a person's life according to Carl Jung

Life is a journey in which our personality goes through fundamental changes. Think about how many stages you have passed, how you have grown or not in your life. However, this has nothing to do with physical age.

The psychologist Carl Jung defined 4 life stages, 4 personality behaviors. See who they are and what is characteristic of each of them.

1. Athlete's Stage

The athlete is the phase in our lives when we are most self-absorbed. There are people in our lives who never get out of this phase or often return to it. Of the 4 stages, this is the least mature. It is characterized by being obsessed with our bodies and appearance.

For an example of the athlete phase, take teenagers walking through a mirror. The athlete phase can be narcissistic, critical, or even both.

2. War Stage

Moving forward in our life we ​​reach the phase of struggle. It is that phase of our life where we want to conquer the world or more precisely, we become more oriented in the goals we have. Here the vanity of the athlete stage begins to fade.

The war stage is characterized by the struggles in our lives that we encounter at this earlier age. This is the most common stage that people go back to throughout their lives as they reinvent themselves.


3. Declaration Stage

When the phase of war in our life passes, we find ourselves faced with the question: "What have I done for others?" ". Our focus shifts from our personal accomplishments to achieving goals based on imparting the lives of others. This stage is often associated with parenting because your focus is providing a better life for your children and what you need to do.

The wording of this life stage for many people is much more than a correlation with parenthood and more about leaving a legacy or imprint on life. It's a time to reflect on what you've achieved and how you can move forward - not just for you, but for the rest of the people in your life, it's a huge step forward.

4. Spirit Stage

The ultimate stage of life is the spiritual stage. At this stage, we realize that we are more than what we have accumulated - be it money, friends, possessions, good deeds or important life events. We are spiritual beings. We understand that we are divine beings on a journey of life that has no real beginning and no end.

The spiritual phase is characterized by a sense of "getting out of your own mind" and focusing on what awaits us beyond our physical beings.

The philosopher Lao Tzu asked a question more than 2,500 years ago that perfectly describes the spiritual phase: “Can you step back from your own mind and understand everything? To give birth and nurture without owning, to act without expectation, to lead and not try to control: this is the supreme virtue.“

Popular topic