is a protein found in some cereals, among which wheat, in which its concentration is the highest. People who don't consume gluten for whatever reason often have a hard time finding gluten-free grains.
It is most difficult for those suffering from gluten intolerance or the so-called celiac disease. In this condition, the consumption of gluten-containing crops is impossible, because they cause a series of symptoms caused by the immune response due to the introduction of gluten into the body. Symptoms include abdominal pain, severe diarrhea, bloating, and in some cases bloody stools.
Cereals that do not contain gluten are suitable for both zochia sufferers and everyone else who for some reason does not consume gluten. They may also offer a number of other he alth benefits.
What are gluten-free grains?
Brown rice does not contain gluten. It is an extremely rich source of useful carbohydrates, fiber, magnesium and B vitamins. It can be used as a substitute for white refined rice, which has a high glycemic index and is not recommended for frequent and abundant consumption by people with diabetes and those suffering from insulin resistance.
Whole grain amaranth
Amaranth is also a gluten-free grain. It is also available in the form of flour, which can be used in the preparation of gluten-free baked goods. Amaranth is rich in potassium, calcium, iron, fiber, proteins. It can also be added to your oatmeal breakfast.
Buckwheat is a cereal with a low to medium glycemic index. This makes it suitable for diabetics. It does not contain gluten, which makes it a wonderful alternative to the most common cereals that contain gluten and which are the main raw material for flour production. It is very rich in fiber and protein. It leaves a long-lasting feeling of satiety, it is very rich in minerals and antioxidants.
Corn also does not contain gluten. Corn flour is a great alternative to wheat flour because it can be used in a number of recipes and quite successfully. Corn is rich in lutein and zeaxanthin – antioxidants that are very essential for eye he alth and vision.
Millet is another great gluten-free grain. Millet also contains enviable amounts of magnesium, proteins, phosphorus, antioxidants, important for the heart.
Quinoa is extremely rich in protein and fiber. It is filling and rich in anti-inflammatory antioxidants. It is an excellent source of iron. It can be consumed in all kinds of ways - in salads, meat and vegetable dishes, as a substitute for rice in a number of recipes.